Connect with us

Community

Council announce bin collection dates during Christmas and New Year period for Northumberland

Published

on

We have recently read a lot of comments online about finding out when the council will be collecting bins during the Christmas and New Year period. Here are all the answers you need.

When will my bins and recycling be collected this Christmas 2019?

Collections week commencing 16 December will be as usual.

Collections due on Monday 23 December and Tuesday 24 December will be carried out on those days as normal.  

Collections later in Christmas week will be 2 days late:

  • Bins due to be collected on Wednesday 25 December will be collected on Friday 27 December instead
  • Bins due to be collected on Thursday 26 December will be collected on Saturday 28 December instead

New Year bin collections

Collections due on Monday 30 December and Tuesday 31 December will be carried out on those days as usual.

Collections due later in the week of New Year  bin will be 1 day late: 

  • Bins due to be collected on Wednesday 1 January will be collected on Thursday 2 January instead
  • Bins due to be collected on Thursday 2 January will be collected on Friday 3 January instead

Click here for exact opening times of your local household waste recovery centre over the festive period

Christmas Tree Recycling

Real Christmas trees can be recycled into good quality compost, soil conditioner, and chippings. You can take them to your local household waste recovery centre during normal site opening times where they are collected and recycled along with other items of garden waste.

Want to know the latest alerts from Northumberland County Council? Click here for the latest news.

Popular